COPA 2019: Kitende Revenge Against Jinja SSS to Clinch 9th Copa title

Copa Coca Cola Finals

  • St Mary’s Kitende 3-1 Jinja SSS


Third(3rd) place play off.

  • Buddo SSS 2-0 Standard High School Zana.


St Mary’s Kitende came a goal from down to revenge against Jinja SSS with a 3-1 victory to clinch their ninth Copa Coca Cola title in the secondary Schools championship hosted by Jinja College.

It was a sweet revenge for St Mary’s Kitende that lost in Spot kicks to Jinja SSS in 2017 finals in Masaka.

St Mary’s Kitende XI.


Danger man Lawrence Tezikya gave Jinja SSS an early lead in the 9th when he connected well to Ismail Mugulusi corner. And substitutes Umaru Kyebatalya and Yiga Najib equalised and gave Kitende the lead respectively shortly after being brought on.

Jinja SSS XI


Richard Basangwa put the icing on the cake with the third goal and the Jinja chaotic fans started throwing stones on the pitch and Police had to fire tear gas to calm the situation

Players and some fans ran to the center for rescue as chaotic fans were throwing stones.


Jinja SSS goal keeper Lazarus Oblejo made a crucial save and denied Kitende the equaliser when he dealt well with Bobosi Byaruhanga free kick close to the end of the first half.

SMASK head coach Dan Male made two technical substitutions that changed the game; Umaru Kyabatala and Yiga Najib for Stephen Serwadda and Charles Lwanga and they both scored.

SMASK won their ninth title and Jinja SSS has only won it once in 2017 and they beat St Mary’s Kitende in Masaka.

SMASK has won it more times (9) than any other school and Kibuli has won it  eight times since 1993. Kitende had last won it in 2015 in Hoima.

In the third place play off match, Innocent Ronald and Joseph Kafumbe scored for Buddo in either half in a 2-0 victory over Standard High school Zana.

Buddo SSS receiving their bronze medals


Dennis Kigundu, Emma Munoobi, Musa Ssali, Jacob Okao, Ahmed Amayo, Aziz Kayondo, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Abdul Karim Watambala, Richard Basangwa, Charles Lwanga, Stephen Serwadda

Andrew Kawooya, Mugolopa Mutwalib, Dennis Ojara , Ivan Asaba, Robert Kitabalwa, Umar Kyebatalya

Dan Abbey Male

Jinja SSS XI
Lazarus Oblejo, George William Kalyowa,Kenneth Semakula, Samuel Baliluno, Elvis Ngondwe, Hussein Sajjabbi, Edrine Opaara, Vincent Ziwa, Lawrence Tezikya, Ismail Mugulusi

Delton Oyo, Frank Semakula, Fred Massa, Jumah Nzorah, Muwawu Kirunda, Ashraf

Individual Awards

MVP– Mukisa Edrine Opaara(Jinja SSS)


Top Scorer – Lawrence Tezikya(Jinja SSS)



Copa Semi final results.

St Mary’s Kitende 1(7)-1(6) Buddo SSS

Standard High Zana vs Jinja SSS

Copa Coca Cola 2019 Quarter final results

Buddo SSS 2-0 Jinja Progressive Academy

St Mary’s Kitende 2-0 St Henry’s Kitovu

Standard High Zana 1-0 Royal Giant -2pm

Jinja SSS 0(3)- 0(1) Parents -4pm.

Copa round of 16 results

Buddo SS 2-0 Uganda Martyrs Rubaga

Masaka SSS (3) 0-0 (4) Bulo Parents

Standard High Zana 2-0 Kawempe Royal College

Royal Giant -W/O After Nakaseke Disqualification

St Mary’s SS, Kitende 4-0 St Kaggwa

St Henry’s Kitovu 3-2 St John High School

JIPRA 2(6)-2(5) Kibuli SS

Jinja SSS 2-0 St Julian High School,


About Henry Musabe

Henry Musabe is a Ugandan sports journalist, senior reporter at Sports256 as well as a presenter and football commentator.