4 Dropped As Cranes COSAFA Final Squad is Named.

2019 COSAFA Tournament (25th May– 8th June)

Durban, South Africa

Kampala – Mbarara City creative midfielder Ivan Eyam, Express’ Michael Birungi and SC Villa duo of goal keeper Saidi Keni and midfielder David Owori have been dropped from the squad that will travel to Durban South Africa for the COSAFA tournament according to the names released on Tuesday morning.

The twenty man selected squad comprise of;  two goalkeepers, seven defenders, seven midfielders and four strikers.

After a shocking drop from the AFCON squad, Uganda Premier league top scorer Juma Balinya and ingenious midfielder Allan Okello will have much to showcase in this tournament to prove their worthy of being in AFCON.

Proline FC wonder kid Bright Anukani, Paul Mucureezi, Shafiq Kagimu, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Allan Kayiwa are some noteworthy talents included in this squad.

KCCA FC has contributed the biggest number of players in the squad six, URA FC managing three, Police FC and Proline drawing at two(2) players each.

Express, Bright Stars, Mbarara City, Tooro United, Vipers & Sc Villa have contributed equally with a player each in the final squad.

The six players; Juma Balinya, Charles Lukwago, James Alitho, Allan Okello, Daniel Serunkuma, Mustafa Mujuzi who failed to make the cut into the preliminary squad for the AFCON Finals have been dropped to the COSAFA Squad that flies out on Thursday 23rd May 2019

According to Fufa.co.ug, the team willl be handled by Police head coach Abdallah Mubiru assisted by Mbarara City’s Charles Livingstone Mbabazi.

Uganda will start the tournament at Quarter final level against Lesotho on Saturday 1st June 2019. Zimbabwe, South Africa, Botswana and Zambia are other countries that will start at the same level (Quarter) lie Uganda.

Eswatini will play Mauritius on 25th May in the opening fixture of the tournament and the finals will be played on 8th June

The Final Squad:

Goal keepers

Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), James Alitho (URA FC)


Willa Paul (Police), Kizza Mustafa (KCCA), Lavita John (Express FC), Isinde Isaac (Kirinya Jinja SSS), Mbowa Paul (URA FC), Hassan Musana (KCCA FC), Mujuzi Mustafa (Proline FC)


Kasozi Nicolas (KCCA FC), Kagimu Shafik (URA FC), Mutyaba Muzamir (KCCA FC), Okelo Allan (KCCA FC), Kayiwa Allan (Toro Utd), Balinya Juma (Police FC), Mucurezzi Paul (Mbarara City)


Senkatuka Nelson (Brights Stars), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Serunkuma Dan (Vipers SC)

(Main Photo: Uganda Cranes squad in preparations for the tournament previouslly, Photo: FUFA media)


About Henry Musabe

Henry Musabe is a Ugandan sports journalist, senior reporter at Sports256 as well as a presenter and football commentator.