Who is Who in Buganda Masaza Cup, Where Gomba Are record Champions

Buganda Masaza Cup record champions Gomba have lifted the title four times more than any other county and they won the first ever Masaza Cup title in 2004.

Mawokota come close with 3 titles, Ssingo has won it twice and others have managed a piece each.

Kooki, Kyaddondo, Bulemezi, Bululi, Buddu are those that have tested the sweatness of the most prestigious title on the land once

The record winners have played in a record 8 Masaza Cup finals and have won four and lost four and Ssingo come close with 5 finals played.

Gomba played in three consecutive finals, lost two and won one; Lost to Mawokota in 2007 and to Kyaddondo in 2008 and beat Mawogola in 2009.

The Gomba 2009 team notably had the likes of Yassar Mugerwa, Andrew Kyekulidde and this was Shafiq Bisaso’s first Masaza title.

The two titles Ssingo has ever won, they beat Buddu at both occasions.

Gomba has lost two finals to Mawokota, Mawogola has lost 2 finals to Gomba and Buddu has lost 2 finals to Ssingo.

Ssingo has played in 5 masaza finals and won 2 titles and lost 3 finals, two to Gomba & one to Mawokota.

Coach Richard Makumbi lost the 2013 & 2014 finals with Ssingo to Mawokota and Gomba respectively and Shafiq Bisaso won it for Ssingo in 2015 and 2018.

The 2015 Ssingo winning squad had notable faces that include; Fahad Bayo, Idirisa Lubega, Wilber ‘ Magumba’ Senyonga etc.

Mawogola has played in only two Masaza finals and they lost both of them to Gomba in 2004 and 2009.

When Bulemezi lost the final in 2011 to Bululi, they won the title the next year 2012 against Buwekula, as well Buddu lost the final in 2015 to Ssingo and beat Gomba in 2016 to lift it and lastly Ssingo lost to Gomba in 2017 and won it in 2018 against Buddu.

Mawokota has won all three finals it as played against Gomba (twice) and Ssingo.

Uganda Cranes forward Emmanuel Okwi scored a hat trick and Frank Kalanda in a 4-1 humiliation of Gomba in the 2007 final, a Mawokota side that was handled by Coach Matia Lule.

The trio of Bululi, Kooki and Kyaddondo
have only played in one final and they won them.

The Masaza Cup final between Bulemezi and Busiro on Saturday 26th October.

Bulemezi will be playing in their 3rd Masaza Cup final fighting for their second title to level with Ssingo.

Bulemezi lost their maiden final to Bululi in 2011 and beat Buwekula to clinch their only title in 2012

Busiro will play in their first ever Masaza Cup final on Saturday hoping for their first title.

Busiro will look on to Uganda Cranes and Police midfielder Andrew Kigozi, URA FC duo of Mickdad Senyonga and Ivan Serubiri who have already joined Uganda’s top tier for positive results on Saturday.

Busiro best performance ever was in 2017 when they lost 4-2 to Buddu in the classification match at Namboole.

At only five occasions in 14 finals, Spot kicks have decided the winner of Masaza Cup title; in 2006 Kooki beating Bugerere, In 2009 Gomba defeating Mawogola, In 2014 Gomba beating Ssingo, In 2016 Buddu defeating Gomba and recently in 2018 when Ssingo edged rivals Buddu.

Mickdad Senyonga, now with Busiro, holds the record of the player who has lost the most number of finals with Ssingo, Gomba and Buddu.

Abdul Karim Wejuli is the record Masaza Cup top scorer with 18 goals.

Previous Masaza Cup winners

Year – Champions
2004 -Gomba – ( Gomba 3-0 Mawogola)
2005- Mawokota – ( Mawokota 4-1 Gomba)
2006- Kooki – ( Kooki (4) 2-2 (2) Bugerere
2007- Mawokota – ( Mawokota 4-1 Gomba)
2008- Kyaddondo – ( Kyaddondo 2-0 Gomba)
2009- Gomba – (Gomba (5) 1-1 (4) Mawogola)
2010 -Not held
2011-Bululi – ( Bululi 1-0 Bulemezi)
2012- Bulemezi – ( Bulemezi 2-1 Buwekula)
2013- Mawokota -( Mawokota 1-0 Ssingo)
2014- Gomba – (Gomba (5) 0-0 (4) Ssingo)
2015- Ssingo -(Ssingo 5-0 Buddu)
2016- Buddu – ( Buddu (6) 1-1 (5) Gomba)
2017- Gomba – ( Gomba 1-0 Ssingo )
2018- Ssingo -( Ssingo (12) 1-1 (11) Buddu)

Numbers of titles won by different counties

Gomba – 4 titles
Mawokota -3 titles
Ssingo -2 titles
Kooki – 1 title
Kyaddondo – 1 title
Bululi – 1 title
Bulemezi – 1 title
Buddu – 1 title

(Gomba FC in orange jersey in one of their matches this season)

Henry Musabe

Henry Musabe is a Ugandan sports journalist, senior reporter at Sports256 as well as a presenter and football commentator.

Next Post

Ugandan Striker Wangi Taking The Rwanda Premier League By Storm

Sun Oct 27 , 2019
Buganda Masaza Cup record champions Gomba have lifted the title four times more than any other county and they won the first ever Masaza Cup title in 2004. Mawokota come close with 3 titles, Ssingo has won it twice and […]